An astute and searing look at the political and cultural mores of the last fifty years—in all their savagery and good intentions.
Fiona Maazel, author of Last Last Chance and Woke Up Lonely
When a mysterious blogger reveals renowned pro-war journalist Arthur Hunt’s long-ago incestuous affair with his smart but impressionable younger sister Emily, Arthur writes a memoir in defense of his life, coming to terms with his shattered sense of self, his skewed political ideals, and the crumbling American empire he has been struggling to uphold. 

When a mysterious blogger reveals renowned pro-war journalist Arthur Hunt’s long-ago incestuous affair with his smart but impressionable younger sister Emily, Arthur writes a memoir in defense of his life, coming to terms with his shattered sense of self, his skewed political ideals, and the crumbling American empire he has been struggling to uphold. 

Short Century: A Novel

by David Burr Gerrard

When a mysterious blogger reveals renowned pro-war journalist Arthur Hunt’s long-ago incestuous affair with his smart but impressionable younger sister Emily, Arthur writes a memoir in defense of his life, coming to terms with his shattered sense of self, his skewed political ideals, and the crumbling American empire he has been struggling to uphold. An angry but eloquent narrator in the tradition of Philip Roth and Thomas Bernhard, Arthur recounts his relationship with Emily, weaving in his claustrophobic WASP childhood, his ‘60s student radical days at Yale, and his vociferous support for America’s war in Iraq and its continuing drone campaign. 

Capturing the tumult of recent American history, Short Century is filled with supporting characters as memorable as Arthur— including Miranda, his mercurial college girlfriend; Jersey Rothstein, the charismatic free-love guru for whom Miranda leaves Arthur; their son Jason, who signs up to serve in Iraq, where he is killed; their daughter Sydney, who follows Arthur into pro-war punditry; and their daughter Daisy, who chooses to wear a burqa. With a broad historical scope but an intimate personal focus, this is a novel about America, family, and how the desire for freedom is often entangled with darker impulses.

Rare Bird Books, A Barnacle Book
Paperback, 2014: 9781940207070
US $15.95 | Fiction
Also available in ebook formats

Short Century is a revelatory debut that forces us to reexamine what we’ve told ourselves about family, politics, our personal beliefs and national mythologies. A brave new voice in the Rothian tradition, David Burr Gerrard has created an unforgettable portrait of a man both defined by and complicit in defining his era.
Courtney Elizabeth Mauk, author of Spark
David Burr Gerrard’s Short Century is one of the smartest, wittiest and most original novels I’ve read in a long time. With a dark humor reminiscent of Evelyn Waugh and Kingsley Amis and a playful intellectual energy all its own—as well as a surprisingly touching human story at its center—this deft, clever and thoroughly well-written book is riveting and a pleasure to read.
Adelle Waldman, author of The Love Affairs of Nathaniel P.
David Burr Gerrard is a writer living in Queens, NY. He is a contributing editor at Tottenville Review, and his work has also appeared in The Awl, The Millions, Full Stop, Specter, Extract(s), and elsewhere. He teaches creative writing at Manhattanville College. This is his first novel. 

David Burr Gerrard is a writer living in Queens, NY. He is a contributing editor at Tottenville Review, and his work has also appeared in The AwlThe MillionsFull StopSpecterExtract(s), and elsewhere. He teaches creative writing at Manhattanville College. This is his first novel. 

David Burr Gerrard is a writer living in Queens, NY. He is a contributing editor at Tottenville Review, and his work has also appeared in The Awl, The Millions, Full Stop, Specter, Extract(s), and elsewhere. He teaches creative writing at Manhattanville College. This is his first novel. 

 

More from us...


You may also like...