Back to All Events

Brian Sweany signs Buy The Ticket, Take The Ride at Barnes & Noble, Indianapolis

Brian Sweany signs Buy The Ticket, Take The Ride at Barnes & Noble, Indianapolis

Barnes & Noble Indianapolis | 8675 River Crossing Blvd, Indianapolis, IN 46240

In the highly personal tradition of Jenny Offill and Elena Ferrante, the Buy the Ticket, Take the Ride is loosely based on the Sweany's tragicomedic teenage life growing up in Indiana and his later years working in the New York publishing industry. Hunter S. Thompson biographer William McKeen called it, “Fear and Loathing in Las Vegas meets Leave It to Beaver.” And bestselling author Frank Bill adds, “In the vein of David Sedaris or Chuck Palahniuk, Brian Sweany has written a tight satirical story that has you bent over with laughter one moment, then wiping away the tears the next minute.”

"In the vein of David Sedaris or Chuck Palahniuk..." —Frank Bill, bestselling author of Crimes in Southern Indiana

"Think Fear and Loathing in Las Vegas meets Leave It to Beaver...." —William McKeen, bestselling author of Outlaw Journalist: The Life and Times of Hunter S. Thompson

"For anyone who ever wonders about that guy in school who has more fun, more girls, more drinks, more sex, drugs, and rock and roll, more luck (and bad luck) of the Irish..." —Keith Donohue, bestselling author of The Stolen Child

"Exposing the belly of the male beast is a brave thing to do. Brian Sweany writes like an American Martin Amis, and that's a great thing." —Alexandra Fuller, author of Don't Let's Go to the Dogs Tonight, a New York Times Notable Book, the Booksense Best Nonfiction Book of the Year, a finalist for the Guardian's First Book Award and the winner of the Winifred Holtby Memorial Prize

"Prepare yourself for a nostalgic, strikingly honest trip back to your yearning youth. Buy the Ticket, Take the Ride is more than a romp, and it will do more than jog your memory: it will run your memory over with a juggernaut of hormones, teen confusion and dawning awareness." —David L. Robbins, author of War of the Rats, founder of the James River Writers and co-founder of The Podium Foundation