David Burr Gerrard reads at The Half King

  • The Half King 505 W 23rd St New York, NY, 10011 United States

The Half King Bar and Restaurant hosts author David Burr Gerrard as he reads from his debut novel, Short Century

When a mysterious blogger reveals renowned pro-war journalist Arthur Hunt’s long-ago incestuous affair with his smart but impressionable younger sister, Emily, Arthur writes a memoir in defense of his life, coming to terms with his shattered sense of self, his skewed political ideals, and the crumbling American empire he has been struggling to uphold. An angry but eloquent narrator in the tradition of Philip Roth and Thomas Bernhard, Arthur recounts his relationship with Emily, weaving in his claustrophobic WASP childhood, his '60s student radical days at Yale, and his vociferous support for America’s war in Iraq and its continuing drone campaign.

"I’ve tried to stop thinking about Arthur Hunt, the unreliable memoirist and antihero of the thrillingly ambitious Short Century, but I can’t. Hunt’s outsized depredations—political, moral, sexual—are acutely satirized in this dark, funny, unflinching novel. David Burr Gerrard is a scarily clever young man, with a talent as subversively unforgettable as his artful creation."

– Rebecca Mead, author of My Life in Middlemarch

"An astute and searing look at the political and cultural mores of the last fifty years--in all their savagery and good intentions."

– Fiona Maazel, author of Last Last Chance and Woke Up Lonely