Experimental O'Neill

edited by Rick Mitchell

Experimental O'Neill compiles, in a single volume, six of Eugene O'Neill's early, often overlooked, and still highly controversial early plays: The Hairy Ape, The Emperor Jones, and what are often referred to as The S.S. Glencairn Plays, four early, related one-acts, including extensive companion essays and critical analysis.

Exploring themes of race, capitalism, and isolation, these plays use a mix of realism and expressionism to highlight the human condition in groundbreaking drama that is at once thematically evocative of its era and fundamentally ahead of its time.

Rare Bird Books, A Barnacle Book
Paperback, 2015: 978-0-9887456-9-8
US $16.00 | Drama

Eugene O'Neill (1888–1953) was an American playwright and Nobel laureate in Literature.

Rick Mitchell is a professor, playwright, ventriloquist, and author of numerous published works, including Ventriloquist, The Composition of Herman Melville, Brecht in L.A., and many others. He lives in Los Angeles.


More from us...